All herbs and spices are free of gluten, to be honest, but there are many, many spice blends that do contain gluten and other harmful additives. MSG is one of the most commonly added chemicals to spice blends as a sort of cop out to natural flavors.
Living Gluten Free
When you are gluten intolerant, there are many food combinations that you will have to avoid. Mostly, it is anything with wheat in it but there are other grains that contain gluten too. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, spelt, barley, and some other grains too.
You will need to eat a diet that has no gluten in it in order to stay healthy. When you cook, you should use gluten free spices and blends. Make sure, by looking at the label, that the spice blends you get are definitely free of any gluten or artificial ingredients such as MSG.
Healthy Spice Blends
While all actual spices and herbs do not have any gluten since they are not grains, spice blends can have ingredients like gluten or ingredients derived from gluten in them. This spells bad news for people with gluten intolerance.
It is best to use the spice blends that are certified to be gluten free in order to avoid this. By doing so, you will be using healthy, tasty spice blends. It is ideal to look online for the best you can find. When the blends are handcrafted, that is best of all.
Enjoy your Foods
It is boring to eat plain foods so you want to spice them up with some nice flavors to bring out the natural flavors of the food. There are so many herbs and spices you can use without any gluten that you will never be at a loss for good, healthy meal ideas.